2009 UD Icons Baseball: worth collecting?

2009 Upper Deck Icons was recently released, and following Allen & Ginter, its not getting much love. For 80 bucks a box you can pull two Letterman patch cards(manufactured, obviously), two memorabilia cards, and one autograph card as well as five #’d inserts and parallels. I’m really not going crazy over the manufactured Letterman patches, although the autographed Letterman patchs might make up for the unsigned celebrity patches.

I do like to see the rookies #’d to 999, and the rookie auto’s #’d up the 600. Also, the idea to place one insert per pack is appealing to some people, as it keeps breaking a box consistent. The auto stickers aren’t as bad as everyone is writing them off to be, but I really think Icons needs to add a better background to the inserts and rookie cards, they can do better than a boring brown background.

Overall I do think Icons does deserve some credit for being released the same month as Allen & Ginter,  but its not stealing any of the spotlight away from Allen & Ginter.

You can find the complete checklist here.

Rick PorcelloAnd what is up with this Rick Porcello error card, really??

Jeremy Piven

icons4

5 Responses

  1. I’ve seen a few videos now that make me want to stay far, far away from this product – I posted a link to one on my site. Also, I really don’t like those manufactured letter patches (or any manufactured patches, for that matter). They just don’t appeal to me.

    If anything, I’ll buy a couple blasters of the stuff to get the relics and trade away any bases to people that’d want ’em.

  2. I’d be more willing to collect it, if I could actually find a checklist for the set.

  3. I’ve seen a few videos now that make me want to stay far, far away from this product – I posted a link to one on my site. Also, I really don’t like those manufactured letter patches (or any manufactured patches, for that matter). They just don’t appeal to me.

    If anything, I’ll buy a couple blasters of the stuff to get the relics and trade away any bases to people that’d want ’em.
    Forgot to add excellent post! Can’t wait to reading the next one!

  4. Wow! Upper Deck finally put out a checklist on their site! It’s a little late.

    • yeah, you’d think they would be able to get things moving a lil quicker over there in Cali.

Leave a Reply

